My Name Is Wakawakaloch!

Title: My Name Is Wakawakaloch!
Contributors: Chana Stiefel (Author), Mary Sullivan (Illustrator)
Published by: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: August 27, 2019
ISBN13: 978-1328732095
Buy the Book: AmazonBarnes & NobleIndieBound

Grades: Pre-K-3

 

Overview

In this lighthearted picture book, the intrepid, determined, and savvy Wakawakaloch learns to embrace what makes her special while lifting up her neanderthal community. Perfect for fans of Vera Brosgol and Emily Hughes.

No one can pronounce Wakawakaloch’s name. Why couldn’t she be called something simple . . . like Gloop? That’s a name you can find on a T-shirt! But after a visit with her tribe’s elder, Wakawakaloch discovers what her name means, and how powerful names can be. Gloop may be easy to say, but the girl who helps her friends embrace differences and wear their names proudly? Her name is Wakawakaloch!


“Wakawakaloch's frustrations surrounding the mispronunciation of her name will resonate with many, and her taking inspiration from her ancestor is a lovely touch. This bombastic main character allows the story to shine."
For the full review, click here.
Kirkus Review

“I have a major book crush. Wakawakaloch is absolutely HILARIOUS! The text is funny and clever, the art is beyond adorable.”
Corey Rosen Schwartz, Children’s book author

“Me love book a lot. So funny and so kid-friendly. Excellent writing and illustrations...It's heartfelt, too! And the caveman theme is awesome.”
Diana Murray, Children’s book author

Trailer